Skip to navigation Skip to content

PhD Position - role of mitochondrial sHSPs

PhD Position -  role of mitochondrial sHSPs

MPI Potsdam-Golm, Germany


The Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology in Potsdam invites applications for a PhD Studentship (code 11/17) to study the role of mitochondrial sHSPs whose expression parallels that of HSP21 during the thermomemory phase, for thermopriming and thermomemory in Arabidopsis.

Our research and your tasks

The successful applicant will generate transgenic lines with enhanced or suppressed expression of mitochondrial sHSPs and characterise their thermomemory behaviour. Additionally, we aim to assess their chaperone activity and identify their targets in vivo upon a priming treatment. We also aim to identify their upstream transcriptional regulators, assuming those to be early regulators of priming and memory. The research involves cutting-edge molecular biological and genomics methods.

Experimental evidence indicates the existence of a molecular memory that enables plants to withstand severe/lethal stress better if previously confronted with moderate stress (Hilker et al., 2015, Biol. Rev. Camb. Philos. Soc). However, the mechanistic basis for this memory is not well defined.

Recently we demonstrated that the plastid metalloprotease FtsH6 and small heat shock protein HSP21 jointly regulate thermomemory in the model plant Arabidopsis thaliana (Sedaghatmehr et al., 2016, Nat. Commun, in press). HSP21, a plastidial small heat shock protein, plays a crucial role for extended thermomemory in Arabidopsis. The ability to maintain high levels of HSP21 protein after priming determines the duration of memory in genetically modified plants as well as in natural accessions of Arabidopsis with contrasting thermomemory capacity. The abundance of HSP21 during the memory phase is negatively regulated by heat-induced plastid-localized metalloprotease FtsH6.


More information to be found here

MPI Golm, DE
Until filled

Printed from on 22/08/17 11:39:38 PM

EPSO is an independent academic organisation currently representing 61 institutional members bringing together more than 204 research institutes, departments and universities from 29 countries in Europe and beyond.