EPSO is pleased to announce the start of its new Working Group ‘Future Proofed Crops’. It will focus on adapting our crops to the shifting climate, to improve abiotic stress, photosynthesis and resource use efficiency of crops, and to stably increase crop yield and – via the link to our Nutritional Security WG crop nutritional quality. It encompasses the continuum from basic to applied research.

The first activity planned by the WG will be a (probably online) meeting in February 2022 to discuss the upcoming novel possibilities to future proof our crops.

Pls discuss this in your organisation and reply to Karin, cc Sofia and the chairs to become a member of this WG best by 3rd December (we suggest 1-2 expert scientists per organisation interested in this subject). To enrol an expert, please provide the providing the name, function in the institute, 1-3 keywords on the expertise and contact details.


Interested in the other EPSO WGs?

Discuss in your organisation all EPSO Working Groups (see 2nd attachment) and let Karin know if you want to add expert scientists to the other WGs.

EPSO members start and coordinate EPSO Working Groups to collaborate on science advancement, networking, strategy and provide science advice to policy.

We suggest that 1-2 expert scientists per member organisation join a WG relevant to them.

Membership in EPSO WGs is restricted to experts from EPSO Institutional members. Others can apply to become and observer of a WG


Looking forward to collaborating with you in the FPC WG

Rene, Christine, Andreas, Francesco, Alain and Karin


FPC WG co-chairs: René Klein Lankhorst, Christine Raines, Andreas Weber, Francesco Loreto and Alain Gojon.

EPSO Executive Director: Karin Metzlaff


Click here to read: Full ‘EPSO FPC WG announcement’ and the ‘EPSO Join Working Groups announcement’.



EPSO:    Karin Metzlaff, EPSO Executive Director & Sofia Ciravegna, EPSO Executive Assistant

EPSO FPC WG co-chairs:

  • René Klein Lankhorst (WUR / NL)
  • Christine Raines (Essex / UK)
  • Andreas Weber (HHU / DE)
  • Francesco Loreto (CNR / IT)
  • Alain Gojon (INRAE / FR)