In response to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) notification No. 2019-023, EPSO nominated on 15.3.2019 two experts to the Ad Hoc Technical Expert Group on Synthetic Biology: Frank Hartung and Thorben Sprink, from the EPSO Agricultural Technologies Working Group. Completion of submission was confirmed by the CBD secretariat on 18.3.2019.

Background: The Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) extended the mandate of the ad hoc technical expert group (AHTEG) on synthetic biology with renewed membership, as established in decision XII/24, and new terms of reference, and also extended the Open-ended Online Forum to support the work of the AHTEG.

Accordingly, the secretariat of the CBD invited Parties, other Governments, indigenous peoples and local communities, and relevant organizations to nominate experts to the AHTEG. Nominees were required to complete the interest disclosure form. ( The list of 2017-2018 AHTEG members is available at Thematic area: Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety. Ref.: SCBD/CPU/KG/MA/MW/87944; Notification No. 2019-023.

The AHTEG’s face-to-face meeting is scheduled to take place from 4 to 7 June 2019 in Montreal, Canada. The Executive Secretary, in consultation with the Bureau of the Subsidiary Body on Scientific, Technical and Technological Advice, will select experts from the nominations submitted.