Charles Spillane – NUI Galway, IE (Developing countries) and Jean-Christophe Glaszmann – CIRAD, FR (GPC)


Developing countries: EPSO is currently working on advancing several proposals and strategic linkages towards longer term partnerships of European and Developing countries’ plant scientists. These include Underutilised Fruit and Vegetable Crops (led by Brian Thomas and Eckhard George), Cassava Value Chain (led by Wilhlem Gruissem and Herve Vanderschuren), Education (led by Jean-Christophe Glaszmann), Embedding of tree aspects (led by Thomas Geburek), and Strategic Linkages (led by Charles Spillane and Karin Metzlaff). Several EPSO experts already replied information on their ongoing and planned work with developing countries. Read the Working Group Meeting report ‘Towards longer term partnerships of scientists from Europe and Developing Countries’ of 16.10.2014.

GPC: GPC is currently advancing three focus areas: Digital Seed Bank, Biofortification, Stress Resilience. Over 80 EPSO experts kindly offered to help develop and work on the nine focus areas identified by the Global Plant Council. Click here for the information. If you still want to offer an expert, please contact Karin Metzlaff providing the required information.


EPSO news developed by this WG:

Relevant news from other sources:


Thomas Geburek – AT

Eckhard George – DE

Jean-Christophe Glaszmann – CIRAD, FR

Josef Gloessl – BoKu, AT

Heribert Hirt – INRA, FR

Christian Hardtke – Univ Lausanne, CH

Marc Heijde – VIB-IPBO Ghent, BE

Trine Hvoslef-Eide – UMB Norway, NO

Iñaki Hormaza – UMA, ES

Jonathan Jones – SL, UK

Joaquin Medina – CBGP (UPM-INIA), ES

Karin Metzlaff – EPSO

Bernd Mueller-Roeber – Potsdam University – DE

Luis Rey – CBGP (UPM-INIA), ES

Markus Sack – DE

Uli Schurr – Phytosphere Juelich, DE

Tobias Seiberlich, DE

Charlie Spillane – NUI Galway, IE

Chiara Tonelli – Univ Milano, IT

Bruno Touraine – Univ Montpellier, FR

Brian Thomas, UK

Jesus Vicente – CBGP (UPM-INIA), ES

Tobias Wojciechowski – Juelich, DE

Li-Hua Zhu – SLU Alnarp, SE


Sebastien Carpentier, BE

Herve Vanderschuren, BE