Alexandra Barnoux – EPSO


This working group gather the EPSO PR network, to support communication and dissemination on Plant Science, and the organisaiton and animation of Fascination of Plants Day. 

Fascination of Plants Day is the most important public activity of this working group on the international stage. 

Its goal is to get as many people as possible around the world fascinated by plants and enthused about the importance of plant science for agriculture, in sustainability producing food, as well as for horticulture, forestry, and all of the non-food products such as paper, timber, chemicals, energy, and pharmaceuticals. The role of plants in environmental conservation is also a key message.

Five official Fascination of Plants Days have already taken place in 2012, 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019, with thousands of events taking place across the world.  The event takes place every two years, however events are encouraged on the non-official years too. Read the success stories from 2015, 2017 and 2019.

The next official Fascination of Plants Day will take place around 18th May 2022.



EPSO news developed by this WG:

Relevant news from other sources:



Marc Andrey – Agroscope, CH

Paula Bergqvist– VTT, FI

Janne Karin Brodin – NMBU, NO

Mia Cerfonteyn – TSL, UK

Manuela Dahinden – ETH Zurich, CH

Sascha Falkner – FIMBAE IME, DE

Maria Flores –  ITQB, PT

Erwin Grill – TUM, DE

Ike de Haan –  AFSG, WUR, NL

Anne Honsel – UPSC, SE

Trine Hvoslef-Eide – UMB, NO (Global Coordinator of the FoPD)

Sophia Jahns – MPIDB, DE

Martin Kater – Milano Univ., IT

Reetta Kettunen – Turku Univ., FI

Tina Kissinger – HGU, DE

​Michaela Klement – BOKU, AT

Alina-Louise Kramer – HGU, DE

Susana de Lucas – CSIC, ES

Concepción Meneses – INIA, ES

Karin Metzlaff, EPSO – (Global Coordinator of the FoPD)

Joaquim Miguel Costa – U. Lisboa, PT

Antonio Molina, CBGP (UPM-INIA/CISC), ES

Ana Morais – IGC, Oeiras, PT

Silvana Moscatelli – CNR (DISBA), IT

Andreas Müller – FZ Juelich, DE

Gintarė Naujokienė – LAMMC, LT

Colin Nosworthy – IBERS, UK

Vicky Passingham – Essex Univ., UK

Aneta Piechalak –  PAS, PL

Christophe Plomion – Bordeaux Univ., FR

Renata Ramalho – ITQB, PT

Ursula Ross-Stitt – MPI, DE

Mia von Scheven- MPIPBR,DE

Marie-Jeanne Sellier – INRAE, FR

Aarón Seyller – CBGP (UPM-INIA), ES

Sonia Socaci – USAMV, RO

Diana Soldo – Lausanne Univ., CH

Gillian Stirton – JHI, UK

Cathrine Strømø – NMBU, NO

Federica Tenaglia – CNR (DISBA), IT

Johanna Torkkel – LUKE, FI

Ingrid Vleghels – Graduate School EPS, NL

Marike van Woerkom – WUR, NL

Inês Zêzere – IBET, Oeiras, PT


Sylvia Martinez – Univ Basel, CH

Heike Mikschofsky – Univ Rostock, DE

Emma Timewell (& Lynley Brown) – PFR, NZ