Angela Sessitsch – AIT, AT & Paul Schulze-Lefert – MPIZ, DE  & Corne Pieterse, Utrecht Univ, NL




The WG will help creating a science community on plants and microbiomes, foster collaborations and develop advice to policy makers.


The second workshop “Implementing a Plants and Microbiomes Strategy in Europe” (Announcement 31.5.2018) took place in Cologne on 12 October 2018. The aim of this second workshop is to define the needs of and provide advice to the current EU Horizon 2020, Work programme 2020, and its successor “Horizon Europe” (Framework Programme 9). The meeting intends to increase collaborations between the working group members (via e.g. COST action, Coordination & Support Actions, initiate more collaborations both bi-and multi-lateral). At the end of the meeting, a workshop report will be drafted which may ultimately lead to a white paper with current status, goals and next steps in plants and microbiomes research and will be provided as science advice to policy to the European Commission.

In 2017, the group held its first workshop to define a strategy for plant microbiome research in Europe and beyond having a vision on the understanding and application of plant microbiomes in a multidisciplinary manner (linkage to plant research, soil / ecosystem, functioning, agronomy, human/animal health, conservation of biological / genetic resources) and well-integrated in the EPSO network. We defined the needs regarding joint efforts in plant microbiome research and reflect on the needs to achieve major understanding and enable innovations in crop production and ecosystem conservation. The outcome of this meeting, published in the 23.3.2017 report, will provide the basis for further activities planned within this WG and will be provided as science advice to policy to the European Commission.

EPSO news developed by this WG:

Relevant news from other sources:


Ernest Aliche – University of Amsterdam, NL

Hanna-Leena Alakomi, – VTT, FI

Carmen Bianco – CNR, IT

Ton Bisseling – WUR, NL

Sylvia Blümel – BoKu, AT

Paola Bonfante – Univ Torino, IT

Harro Bouwmeester – Univ. Amsterdam, NL          

Marc Buée – INRA Nancy-Lorraine, FR

Gabriel Castrillo – Univ. Nottingham, UK

Soumitra Chowdhury – Helmholtz Munich, DE

Roberto Defez – CNR, IT

Aurélie Deveau – INRA Nancy-Lorraine, FR

Tim Evison – Univ Copenhagen, DK

Kerrie Farrar – IBERS, UK

Judith Felten – SLU Umea, SE

Sofie Goormachtig – VIB, BE

Rita Grosch – IGZEV, DE

Mette Haubjerg Nicolaisen – Univ Copenhagen, DK

Jaime Huerta – CBGP (UPM-INIA), ES

Juan Imperial – Univ. Polit. de Madrid, INIA / CSIC, ES

Zivko Jovanovic – Univ Belgrade, RS

Robert Koller – Julich Research Centre, DE

Karin Metzlaff – EPSO

Liesje Mommer – WUR, NL

Christophe Mougel – INRA, Centre de Rennes, FR

Greta Noelke – IME Aachen, DE

Kirsi-Marja Oksman-Caldentey – VTT, FI

Corné Pieterse – Utrecht Univ, NL

Anna Maria Pirttilä – Univ Oulu, FI

Christophe Plomion – INRA Nancy-Lorraine, FR

Simona Radutoiu – Aarhus, DK

Soledad Sacristan – CBGP (UPM-INIA), ES

Patrick Schafer – Univ Ulm, DE

Klaus Schläppi – Agroscope, CH

Michael Schloter – Helmholtz Munich, DE

Peter Schroeder – Helmholtz Munich, DE

Paul Schulze-Lefert – MPIZ, DE

Angela Sessitsch – AIT, AT

Amir Sharon – Tel Aviv Univ, IL

Soren Sorensen – Univ Copenhagen, DK

Skaidre Suproniene – LAMMC, LT

Chiara Tonelli, Univ Milano – IT

Corinne Vacher – INRA Nancy-Lorraine, FR

Marcel van der Heijden – Agroscope, CH

Jan Dirk van Elsas – Univ Groningen, NL

Leo van Overbeek – WUR, NL

Steve Wakelin – SCION, NZ

Michelle Watt –  Univ of Melbourne, AU

Anouk Zancarini – Univ Amsterdam, NL


From academia:

Gabriele Berg – Graz Univ of Techol., AT

Davide Bulgarelli – Univ Dundee, UK

Tim Evison –  Univ Copenhagen, DK

Yvan Moenne-Loccoz – Univ Lyon, FR

Mette Haubjerg Nicolaisen –  Univ Copenhagen, DK         

Riitta Nissinen – Univ Jyväskyla, FI

Simona Radutoiu –  Aarhus, DK                                    

Barbara Reinhold-Hurek – Univ Bremen, DE

Patrick Schafer – Univ Ulm, DE

Amir Sharon –  Tel Aviv Univ, IL

Soren Sorensen, – Univ Copenhagen, DK

Stijn Spaepen – KUL, BE

Sofie Thijs – Uni. Hasselt, BE

Jaco Vangronsveld – Univ. Hasselt, BE



From industry and farming:

Marc Levebvre – SesVanderhave, BE

Hagai Karchi – Evogene, IL

Jeanne Kjaer – Novozymes, DK

Harald Mikkelsen – Koppert, NL

Isabel Vercauteren – ApheaBio, BE